ATD DDIC (I) 1: Designing and Delivering Incident Command Training Skills for Justice Level 5 Award)

SFJ Awards Level

SFJ Awards Level 5

Qualification Number


Course aims

The course aim is to provide learners with the knowledge, understanding and skills to design and deliver incident command training.
The qualification is aimed at incident command trainers for emergency services including:
– fire and rescue
– police
– military
– ambulance
– others.
It reflects the aim of the Joint Emergency Services Interoperability Program (JESIP) to standardise multi-agency command of incidents. However, it is written in such a way to enable individuality and focus on the needs of each specific service.

The course will satisfy the requirements Of SfJ Level 5 Award In Designing And Delivering Incident Command Training

Who should attend?

Competent or developing Crew, Watch and Station Managers who are required to deliver incident command training and assessments for a range of FRS staff. Learners wishing to take the qualification must already hold a recognised training qualification and have experience of delivering training. Learners must also have a minimum of three years’ command experience or demonstrate competence in a command role if less. Learners must also demonstrate a thorough understanding of the current frameworks, policies and environment that commanders are expected to operate within.

Learning outcomes

– Understand the wider context of incident command training
– Understand incident command training design
– Design and deliver incident command training

Total Qualification Time (TQT): 110 hours

Guided Learning Hours (GLH): 80

Length of course

The course will comprise of 5, 2-day taught module each comprising 8 hours of lectures, seminars, and case studies. Students will be assessed through a training-based portfolio and a reflective journal of their learning Journey.